Reviews

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Domaine Les Grands Champs consistently receives five-star reviews

“Best Holiday!”

Posted by Charlotte on 17/06/2018

“The house was more than we could have ever hoped for!! Very well kept, clean and fantastic facilities including swimming pool, Jacuzzi, large outdoor and indoor dinning space for all of us to sit round and even a bar area for cocktails! Very welcoming and helpful hosts, would highly recommend!”

“First-rate”

Posted by Jasmine on 19/10/2017
“Stunning Villa and wonderful time had by all”

“Exceeded our expectations!”

Posted by Jacki C. on 24/8/16
“We have just returned from a week at this beautiful villa. Eighteen of us, from 9 years old to 71 years old and not one person had a complaint. In fact quite the opposite! The villa exceeded our expectations! Beautifully furnished and decorated, well maintained, absolutely immaculate and incredibly homely… With lots to entertain everyone! The design of the garden and outside areas, with the pool, fire pit area, shaded seating areas and games area meant we could be in the sun or shade, swimming, playing badminton or reading peacefully…. Something for everyone. Tracey and Alex gave us all the privacy we needed, but were very helpful when we had a query about the local area, its restaurants and night markets. Thank you for a lovely place to stay.”

“In a word FABULOUS”

Posted by Christopher W. 23/6/16

“The fact that the villa catered in some style for our extended family with an age range of just three to seventy years speaks volumes.The property furnishings are pure quality with large bedrooms and huge family areas both within and outside the property. Everything in and outside the villa functioned and was obviously well maintained.We basically” lived” by the spacious fenced off Pool and BBQued again using a top class BBQ every night.During the day the grandchildren had a ball on the various amenities ie trampoline,football,etc coming inside at the heat of the day to watch a film on the large cinema type screen within the villa.Tracie,Alex and there son David greeted us on our arrival and made it clear that it was there business to look after our every needs day and night. The reality was that there were no problems or issues for them to attend to save for twice weekly pool maintenance,linen changing and grass cutting.The quiet location was perfect for us but the nearby towns of Montpon-Menestrol within 20 minutes walk afforded all of the usual bars,banks,chemists and two supermarkets A memorable and fantastic holiday for which the owners should feel justly proud.”

“Loved your house and have been raving about it to everyone”

Posted by Mrs B, date of stay 06/08/2015

“I hope all is well with you and the gang! I must say that we had a fantastic holiday. Loved your house and have been raving about it to everyone. Thank you so much for all your help and your company – we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and the family – your girls were a joy and our children had great fun. We hope to see you all again sometime!”

“Grand Champs was perfectly suited to the needs of our large family group”

Posted by John C. 14/07/2014

“Grand Champs was perfectly suited to the needs of our large family group. There were 8 adults and 9 children in our party, but the house and all its grounds were so spacious, we were never on top of each other. The house was very well equipped especially in the kitchen, that we lacked for nothing. St.Emillion, Bergerac and Brantome were typical towns of the Dordogne region, which were all within easy driving distance and well worth visiting. Tracy and Alex were very welcoming and always on hand, if we had any queries.” John & Marian – East Lothian, Scotland

“A Family Holiday to Remember”

Posted by Mandy 17/08/2013
“We stayed in Alex and Tracy’s Villa in August 2013, as a family group of 4 families comprising three generations. The Villa was amazing, accommodating us easily .On one of the days, friends of one part of the family, staying in the same area, came for the day making us 22 in total, but the numbers were lost in the space of the villa and garden. The adults being able to sit in pleasant surroundings enjoying the local wine, while the young made use of the many facilities. The Villa was superbly well equipped with enough inside and outside activities to keep everyone happy, as was the kitchen for whomever’s turn it was to cook!! The joy of being able to eat outside everyday was a real pleasure. The town of Montpon-Menestrol has a variety of shops including a large supermarket, and several ‘all important’ boulangeries. Three members of the group made use of the nearby aquatic centre and took a canoeing trip down the river, with the excitement of small rapids, easily negotiated by one member, who was a relatively inexperienced young canoeist. Tracy and her family could not have been more helpful before and during our stay . Thank you, we would love to come and stay again.”

“Best Family Holiday”

Posted by Pauline F. 27/7/13

“Hi Tracey I wanted to say a very big thank you to you and your family for making our family holiday one of the best I have ever had. My whole family had the time of their lives and all helped by staying in your beautiful home. We had such a fantastic holiday and laughed and had fun everyday. I certainly did not want to leave, I felt so chilled and actually felt like I had a relaxing holiday when I returned back home. I have not stopped talking about it since I have come home and I have had interest from a couple of people at work, so I will send them your way if they plan on going ahead. I wish you all the best of luck in the future and maybe in a year or two, you may see us mad lot again!!!! Once again, thank you for our great holiday and all your help and handy tips and also a thank you to Teresa for a great massage!” Pauline

“Absolutely Stunning!”

Posted by Anna W. 29/7/12

“I booked Villa Grand Champ for my best friend’s hen weekend and there were 12 of us staying for the weekend. We were all blown away by the house, the grounds, swimming pool and all of the many facilities provided for guests. There is so much to keep you entertained in the house, you don’t need to go out! Tracy was invaluable in helping to organising the weekend and she was fantastic at helping me with various queries I had about things we needed on the weekend/booking taxis/what was around in the local area. The outdoor pool and bar area is brilliant for relaxing in and we were lucky enough to be able to eat every meal on the wonderful large outdoor table. Tracy organised for a meal to be cooked for us all on the Friday night which was fantastic and I would definitely recommend booking in for that – the food was fab and it was lovely to have everything taken care of on our first night! We also booked the masseur on the Saturday and everyone loved it. The village is very pretty and there are big supermarkets close, with the bakery around a 20 min walk in the morning. The kitchen is incredibly well stocked with everything you need to cook with and the bbq was also provided so was great! Every one of the girls came away saying what an amazing weekend we’d had in the Villa and how stunning it was – very happy to recommend it for large groups (with or without children) – absolutely fab!”

“Fabulous family holiday”

Posted by Lorraine B. 12/7/12

“We booked Grand Champs for 4 families and could not believe the size and facilities available when we arrived. The photos on the website do not do the villa justice, it was amazing. I think my favourite place was the outside seating area, the gardens are wonderful and it was a joy to sit and relax. Tracy and Alex have catered for every possible need, from kitchen equipment to dressing up clothes for the kids. Our Kids especially enjoyed feeding time with the goats and Casper the pony. The town was in easy walking distance and had a variety of shops and supermarkets, we spent an amazing day in Bordeaux, getting the train from Montpon-Menesterol, Bordeaux was extremely beautiful and well worth a visit. We also enjoyed the park and man made lake about 10 mins walk from villa. Tracy helped us organise a meal at a local restaurant which was fantastic and we would highly recommend. Every room in the villa has been decorated and furnished to a very high standard, and Tracy and Alex were always on hand should you need anything. We would definitely recommend Grand Champs for a family holiday.”

“5 Star Luxury that would put most resorts to shame”

Posted by Shams L. 27/8/11

“Let me start by saying we are a very very very very fussy family with very high expectations and are a nightmare when we don’t receive the service that is advertised and we have paid for. When my wife suggested that this year we should have a family holiday in France I was not too keen. We usually spend the summer in Dubai or the States as I am a firm believer that these are only the few places on this planet that understand the term “Service”. When we pulled up the driveway to the villa I could not believe the size of the place. You could easily loose 4 families in there and not see each other for the whole stay. I spent the first 20 minutes with my mouth open trying to take it all in. The thought and consideration that the owners taken to ensure that the guest have every wish catered for would put most 5 start hotels to shame. Every room was meticulous, dressed to the highest standard and every modern convenience had been thought about and addressed. The kids loved the games room and also the dressing up room, yes that’s right, there was a room just filled with costumes for the kids. The pool area was very clean and safe, and the pool has been itself has been built with kids in mind. It’s only deep in the middle and the side are shallow so I felt at ease letting them play there unsupervised. The duck pond, the farm and the go karts were just a joy for the kids. Usually it takes me the first week of a holiday to start to relax, here I was in the zone within a day, much to the delight of my family 🙂 The owners Tracey and Alex are English and their own villa is next door, they could not have any more helpful or attentive. You can tell that this is a love and business for them and not just a means to make easy cash. They want you to enjoy yourself and have gone to great lengths to ensure you do. Would we go back? well, we have already booked the next 5 summers, whilst the kids are still young enough to holiday with us. I am glad my wife suggested this as this was one of the best family holidays we have had, full stop. Well done Tracy and Alex you should be proud of what you have achieved and thank you for everything.”

“Best holiday ever!!!!”

Posted by Joanne H. 13/8/11

“We stayed here for 1 week over August, 2 families with 4 children under 6 years of age. Tracy had thought of absolutely everything and more. We arrived at the villa around 8pm and after an 8 hour journey we literally dropped all our bags and jumped into the pool. It was lovely and warm and the evening sun set was a perfect start to our holiday. On exploring the house room by room we could not stop staying “WOW” the little touches that made our holiday: in one of the children rooms was a complete wardrobe of dressing up clothes, the books and games made the children settle in straight away. The linen and bath towels were new and fresh, the beds lovely to sleep in. The whole villa was very clean and kept to very high standards. The gardens were amazing, a football pitch, go carts for adults and the children! Complete with a huge trampoline and swings / slides. The swimming pool was fenced off and active with a pool alarm, the pool was brilliant, big enough for both families with lots of sun loungers and outside dinning. I could go on and on, what I will say is that if you decide to have your holiday here you will not be disappointed, in fact like us you probably wont even venture out, but of course book early as we indeed to visit this little bit of paradise year after year!!!! Thank you Tracy for a wonderful memorable stay.”

“Grands Champs is by far the best equiped and luxuriously renovated house we rented the last four years”

Posted By Jacques P. 6/8/11
“Grands Champs” is by far the best equiped and luxuriously renovated house we rented the last four years. “We” means grand parents, children and grand childrens. It is a paradise, mainly for them ! And there are so many beautiful old villages and cities to visit around ! The owner really did take good care of us as she does for the flowers of the garden, the pool and the house itself.” J.P. Brussels

“Wonderful holiday in a remarkable property”

Posted by Beth B. 23/7/11

“If you are looking for a spacious, beautifully furnished and tranquil holiday let, you simply cannot do better than Grands Champs. We had a fantastic two weeks staying at the villa, and Tracy and her lovely family made it a very special holiday indeed. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, and our children had truly memorable stay. The grounds are vast and full of fun for kids, with the animals, trampoline, pool, go-karts and playground all offering those rather necessary diversions! The adults spent days catching up and relaxing around the glorious pool, which is surrounded by beds of tropical flowers, trees and a stunning rockery area, and is properly fenced, and also at the excellent nearby lake beaches. Evenings were spent bbq-ing and relaxing on the terrace with a glass of very good local wine. We plan to come again, and look forward to what we know will be another superb holiday. Thank you Tracy for all your hard work and thoughtfulness. We hope to see you soon.” The B family, Hertfordshire

“Luxury in wine country”

Posted by Chris B. 4/6/11

“A beautifully appointed villa with a nice mix of modern and rustic. Accommodates 12 people with space to spare and without having to live on top of each other. Charming and helpful hosts Will return.”
Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers.

“The villa was beautiful”

Posted by Emma T, 26/05/2011

“The villa was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Lots of space for everyone. The owner was always available and helpful. I would recommend the property to friends and family. A car is essential for getting about.”

Winner of the 2017, 2018 and 2019 Oliver’s Travels awards

For the most popular and best reviewed properties of the year.

What Oliver loves…

☆ Gather in the home cinema to enjoy a film together.

☆ This family holiday villa is a haven for children, with swings, slides, football pitch, sandpit, go-karts, video games and more.

☆ The apartment offers air conditioning to provide guests respite from summer heat while the villa itself also stays cool during the hot months.. just remember to keep the windows closed!

☆ Happy to arrange many extra services such as grocery shopping/fridge stocking, catering, child care, etc…

Ready to book your perfect holiday or event?

Book your stay in our luxury private villa on Oliver's Travels